Monday, April 15, 2024
HomeSportsGor Mahia FC are the Kenya Premier League winners

Gor Mahia FC are the Kenya Premier League winners

By Atanas Walila, Nairobi

Gor Mahia finished the 2022/2023 season in style after thrashing Nairobi City Stars 4 goals to 1 to lift their 20th Kenya Premier League Trophy.

The tight race between Champions Gor, and Tusker FC came to an end after the last whistle during the very last match of the season.

Kogalo’s win left the defending Champions disappointed with a slight difference in the points secured this season. They scored the most number of points, 70, as well as goal difference.

Gor Mahia came from behind to defeat City Stars in one of the biggest comebacks in Kenyan football history.

In the first half, the two sides showed a nice display with several attempts from both teams. Gor however took much of the possession with good number of shots on target but City Stars Goalkeeper Njuge was in to make the saves and denied the visitors an early lead.

The home team found it into Kogalo’s net in the second minute of the second half making the situation precarious for Gor.

The visitors reacted faster and in the 50th minute, they took advantage of an error made by the homeside gooalkeeper, Njuge, to find an equalizer.

The hopes of securing position one came in the 62nd minute after a thunderous shot sent by Lwasa found its way into the left corner of the post.

The provider of the winning goal was substituted in the 68th minute to make way for Kaddu.

Austin and Alpha Onyango scored the third and forth goal in the 79th and 89th minute respectively to seal Kogalo’s big win.

Despite their 4 Nil win against Vihiga Bullets, Tusker remained position two with 69 points, only a point behind Gor.

Kogalo is now Seven KPL trophies ahead of Tusker FC who has 13, followed by AFC Leopards and Ulinzi Stars who has 12 and 4 PL titles respectively.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Rodgers Wakhisi on Buriani Walibora