Sunday, April 21, 2024

Seliphar Musungu, Kakamega

A five days seminar kicked off today at Mombasa was officially opened by his Excellency, the Governor, Hon. Fernandes Barasa who called on the county legislators to be steadfast in execution of their mandate. Barasa urged members of the county assembly to remain united.    

In his remarks, the Rt. Hon. Speaker, James Namatsi underscored the need for team work saying that the Assembly will enhance capacity building of MCAs in order to perform well.

Governor Fernandes Barasa with County Assembly speaker James Namatsi (right), his deputy Benard Shitiabai (left)

"We are set to hit the road running as honorable members have already been sworn to office, now they are undergoing an extensive induction. We have the leadership in place and the next stage will be the formation of various House committees," Hon. Namatsi said.

In the sidelines of the workshop both the majority and minority members unveiled their leaders who will sit in the House Leadership Committee. 

This is a powerful committee, which is chaired by the Speaker. It addresses crucial matters and gives direction on the management of political and welfare issues likely to affect the general delivery of services by the legislature.

Through consensus it was agreed that the following members will sit in the prestigious House Leadership Committee.

1. Leader of Majority – Hon. CPA Phillip Maina (MCA Marama Central)

2. Leader of Minority – Hon. David Ndakwa (MCA West Kabras)

3. Majority Chief Whip – Hon. Gladys Omukongolo (MCA Idakho North)

4. Minority Chief Whip – Hon. Titus Kwomah (MCA Chekakini)

Hon. Elphas Shilosio (MCA Murhanda) wills represent the Majority side at the County Assembly Service Board (CASB) while Hon. Boniface Akosi (MCA Shinoyi -Esumeyia- Shikomari) will represent the minority on the Board

Hon. Brian Mafunga (MCA Likuyani) was proposed to be the chairperson of the Roads and infrastructure committee, although this will be ratified by members of the committee during their first sitting.

The governor congratulated the new leadership and challenged them to ensure resources allocated for the institution from the national treasury are prudently utilized.

Azimio is the majority coalition with 59 members while Kenya- Kwanza is the minority with 27 MCAs. Three members were elected on Independent tickets. 

The Assembly has a total of 89 members excluding the Nucleus Ward in Mumias West , where IEBC suspended election following the demise of one of the candidates.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Rodgers Wakhisi on Buriani Walibora